I’ve been told that blogging is a writer’s best friend. For months I have been treating it more like my worst enemy. Now I think it would be safe to say we have reached “frenemy” status. That’s how the best friendships usually start, right?

My issue with blogging is the pressure I fear I will put on myself to succeed in the blogging world. Being that I’ve lived with myself for almost 21 years, I know myself pretty well. I know that when I put my mind on something, I go all out. I’m not the kind of person who can be satisfied donating $20 dollars to my favorite charity. I have to organize the perfect fund-raising event, gather together volunteers and sponsors to support my cause, and there’s more than a 50% chance that I will decide to make “event planning” or “professional charity organization” my life-time career. For that reason, blogging has always been an intimidating idea to me. I love writing, so if I’m going to do it, I want to try my best to do it right. I want to be wholly satisfied with the piece I create before I hit that “post” button. And as a Blogger, I feel I am expected to add to my blog at regular intervals (i.e. once a week, daily, etc.), and with my busy schedule, that is just too much pressure. Not to mention the fact that the best blogs I’ve ever read had specific content themes (such as my favorite blog, TheKrazyCouponLady.com), and I simply have too many interests to choose from on that front. So long story short, I’m taking this whole blogging thing slowly.

My frenemy and I need some time to get to know each other before we can reach bestie status. I’m not making any promises, but I am going to give this friendship a chance. I hope those of you reading will continue to enjoy this journey with me.

I’ll see you again tomorrow… or, in other words, whenever I decide I want to write something and share it with the world.

One thought on “A Writer’s Best Friend

  1. I enjoy your mind, and I am looking forward to hearing what you have to share. The description of your perfectionist tendencies was very funny and accurate…… I hope you will share some of your fiction writing too 🙂

Leave a Reply

